New Orleans Incorporated: 200 Years of the City Charter
Louisiana Division | New Orleans Public Library

p a g e   25
n e x t     .     c o n t e n t s
Mayor William J. Behan (1840-1928) was the first mayor of New Orleans under the Charter of 1882. Behan, an officer with the Washington Artillery during the Civil War and later an organizer of the Crescent City White League, held the office from 1882-1884. His administration witnessed the first stirrings of the city’s “Ring” machine, but after leaving office Behan joined the Republican party. He was its unsuccessful candidate for the governor’s office in the 1904 election.
          [John Smith Kendall. History of New Orleans (Chicago, 1922), v. II, p. 784]

n e x t     .     c o n t e n t s